The Hutchins School uses cookies to collect anonymous aggregate statistics about the usage of our website. Find out more at our Privacy Policy or Google Privacy and Terms.

Latest Old Boys news

1983 Football Premiers Reunion

HSOBA 83 Reunion

Main photo: left to right; Michael Dermoudy, Leigh Edwards, Charles Brothers, Tony Nicholas, John Davine , Scott Andrewartha, Adrian Granger , Nic Murfett, Tom Holyman. Dean Coleman, Tim Lack, John Clennett, Jim Reid, Mark Boyd, Chris Gray, Ross Williams and Mathew Foster

The Hutchins Old Boys Football Team of 1983 recently celebrated the 30th anniversary of their memorable premiership year. 1983 was especially significant because the team won three premierships over a three week period, that being the Southern Tasmanian Old Scholars Division, the defeat of the Southern District Amateurs which included the likes of Claremont and Sorell and then the State Premiership against Old Scotch.

The reunion was a resounding success with 20 of the 22 players involved coming from all over australia to be together again (some from as far as W.A, north QLD, ACT, NSW and VIC). Sadly we had lost Alec Burbury (,80) and another player, the competition’s best and fairest is lost in the ether but we will find him before the 40th! The boys all went to see the current team play on the Saturday at Queenborough and then had a huge private dinner upstairs at the Ball & Chain and then a barbecue at Coach Clenn’s (John Clennett ('68) on the Sunday. The team had a remarkable year despite having lost the first 4 games – it was on for young and old for the new coach. The boys only lost one more game before the three huge wins.

Old Boys enjoying catching up at John Clennet's ('68) house for a BBQ.

Pictures of the 1983 Hutchins Old Boys Football Club Premiership Squad Team:

HSOBA 83 Reunion 5

Back row, left to right: Peter Hopkins (Treasurer), Tim Lack, Ross Williams, Scott Andrewartha, Nic Murfett, Chris Gray, Leigh Edwards, Alec Burbury, Adrian Granger,
Tim Johnstone, Michael Dermoudy, Scott Parsons, and (inset) Dean Coleman. Front row, left to right: Tim Piper, Jim Reid, Mark Boyd, Leith Thompson (President), Charles Brothers (Captain), John Clennett (Coach), John Davine, Tony Nicholas, Tom Holyman.
Absent; Michael Cook and Anthony Read

HSOBA 83 Reunion 4

Left to right; John Clennett, Michael Cook, Alec Burbury Anthony Read, Leigh Edwards, Tim Johnstone, Mark Boyd, Scott Andrewartha, Adrian Granger, Nic Murfett, Tim Piper, Chris Gray, Barry Jackman, Tony Nicholas, Dean Coleman, Mathew Foster, Jim Reid, Scott Parsons, Colin Purdon, John Davine, Tim Lack, Charles Brothers, Michael Dermoudy, Ross Williams, Peter Lewis, Leith Thompson, Richard Sharpe, Peter Hopkins, Stuart Camm and Tom Holyman.

1983 team photo with the next generation!

HSOBA 83 Reunion

To learn more about the opportunities we provide for boys to become their best, contact our Enrolments Assistant, submit an online Enquiry form or phone 03 6221 4236. We encourage you to book a tour with our Registrar as this is the best way to see our School in action. Read more…