The Hutchins School uses cookies to collect anonymous aggregate statistics about the usage of our website. Find out more at our Privacy Policy or Google Privacy and Terms.

Feature image

Course choice information – Year 9 for 2021

Mr Shane McAloon
Mr Shane McAloon
Power of 9 Co-ordinator

Welcome to Year 9 at Hutchins. What an exciting year you have ahead of you! The development of purpose is the most important part of a young person’s life journey. We are passionate about your personal and social development, equipping you with skills for life and helping you explore your purpose in life. We encourage you to watch the information video below and review the Course Handbook as a family prior to making subject selections. Beneath these links you will find the contact details of staff who are able to provide further guidance around this process.

Cover – Power of 9 Course Handbook 2021

This handbook is designed to help students make informed choices about the Power of 9 learning pathway and explore the new purpose, possibilities and responsibilities of the first year of Senior School with a spirit of adventure. There is a special focus on their chosen Challenge – Global Challenge, Port Davey Challenge, Indigenous Australia Challenge, Island Challenge or Tasmanian Aboriginal Cultural Challenge. Faculties include Centre for Excellence, Design, Production and Digital Technologies, English and Modern Languages, Health and Physical Education, Humanities, Mathematics, Music, Science, and Visual and Performing Arts.

Download the Power of 9 (Year 9) Course Handbook 2021 (7.8mb PDF)

 

Your contacts

Head of Teaching and Learning (Years 7–12)

Mr Iain Belôt
iain.belot@hutchins.tas.edu.au

Dean of Studies and Learning Analytics

Mr James Seddon
james.seddon@hutchins.tas.edu.au

Career Education & Vocational Education Officer

Mr Paul Bonnitcha
paul.bonnitcha@hutchins.tas.edu.au

Power of 9 Co-ordinator

Mr Shane McAloon
shane.mcaloon@hutchins.tas.edu.au

Head of Design, Production and Digital Technology

Mr Kent Moore
kent.moore@hutchins.tas.edu.au

Head English and Modern Languages

Mrs Alison Farmer
alison.farmer@hutchins.tas.edu.au

Head of Health and Physical Education

Mr Anthony Prior
anthony.prior@hutchins.tas.edu.au

Head of Humanities and Social Sciences

Dr Adam Grover
adam.grover@hutchins.tas.edu.au

Head of Mathematics

Mr Jon Williams
jon.williams@hutchins.tas.edu.au

Head of Music

Ms Judith Mann
judith.mann@hutchins.tas.edu.au

Acting Director of Outdoor Education

Mr Matthew Groves
matthew.groves@hutchins.tas.edu.au

Head of Science

Mr Peter Crofts
peter.crofts@hutchins.tas.edu.au

Head of Visual and Performing Arts

Mrs Michelle Weeding
michelle.weeding@hutchins.tas.edu.au

Learning Support

Mr Adam Palfreyman
adam.palfreyman@hutchins.tas.edu.au

For more information about Power of 9 (Year 9) course choices for 2021, please contact Mr Shane McAloon, Power of 9 Co-ordinator, on 03 6223 6450 or shane.mcaloon@hutchins.tas.edu.au.

To learn more about how Hutchins provides opportunities for boys to become their best, we invite you to contact our Enrolments Assistant on 03 6221 4236 who will be delighted to assist you with your enquiry, provide you with further details or arrange a tour so that you may see our school in action. Read more…