The Hutchins School uses cookies to collect anonymous aggregate statistics about the usage of our website. Find out more at our Privacy Policy or Google Privacy and Terms.

Feature image

Course choice information – Year 8 for 2021

Mrs Fiona Moroney
Mrs Fiona Moroney
Head of Year 8

Welcome to Year 8 at Hutchins. Below you will find a video that details the introduction of elective subjects for Year 8 students in 2021. We encourage you to watch this video as a family and review the Course Handbook prior to making subject selections. Beneath these links you will find the contact details of staff who are able to provide further guidance around this process.

Cover – Middle School Course Handbook 2021

This handbook welcomes students to the Middle School and emphasises the proactive pastoral care that takes place when students make the transition from the one classroom teacher experience of the primary school years into the subject-focused experience of secondary school. Faculties include Centre for Excellence, Design, Production and Digital Technologies, English and Modern Languages, Health and Physical Education, Humanities and Social Sciences, Mathematics, Music, Science, and Visual and Performing Arts.

Download the Middle School (Years 7–8) Course Handbook 2021 (7.7mb PDF)

 

Your contacts

Head of Teaching and Learning (Years 7–12)

Mr Iain Belôt
iain.belot@hutchins.tas.edu.au

Dean of Studies and Learning Analytics

Mr James Seddon
james.seddon@hutchins.tas.edu.au

Career Education & Vocational Education Officer

Mr Paul Bonnitcha
paul.bonnitcha@hutchins.tas.edu.au

Head of Year 8

Mrs Fiona Moroney
fiona.moroney@hutchins.tas.edu.au

Head of Design, Production and Digital Technology

Mr Kent Moore
kent.moore@hutchins.tas.edu.au

Head English and Modern Languages

Mrs Alison Farmer
alison.farmer@hutchins.tas.edu.au

Head of Health and Physical Education

Mr Anthony Prior
anthony.prior@hutchins.tas.edu.au

Head of Humanities and Social Sciences

Dr Adam Grover
adam.grover@hutchins.tas.edu.au

Head of Mathematics

Mr Jon Williams
jon.williams@hutchins.tas.edu.au

Head of Music

Ms Judith Mann
judith.mann@hutchins.tas.edu.au

Acting Director of Outdoor Education

Mr Matthew Groves
matthew.groves@hutchins.tas.edu.au

Head of Science

Mr Peter Crofts
peter.crofts@hutchins.tas.edu.au

Head of Visual and Performing Arts

Mrs Michelle Weeding
michelle.weeding@hutchins.tas.edu.au

Learning Support

Mr Adam Palfreyman
adam.palfreyman@hutchins.tas.edu.au

For more information about Year 8 course choices for 2021, please contact Mrs Fiona Moroney, Head of Year 8, on 03 6221 4208 or fiona.moroney@hutchins.tas.edu.au.

To learn more about how Hutchins provides opportunities for boys to become their best, we invite you to contact our Enrolments Assistant on 03 6221 4236 who will be delighted to assist you with your enquiry, provide you with further details or arrange a tour so that you may see our school in action. Read more…